Academic Senate

(Location:  Room A117) (Phone Number:  619-388-2733)

Senators and Executive Officers

Fall 2023 Academic Senate/Senate Executive Meeting Schedules

2023 2024 Academic Senate Executive Committee Roster

Video Instructions - Enrollment for SDMC AS Membership Dues



Mesa College has a very active Academic Senate that meets twice each month during the fall and spring semesters. We have fully invested and extremely involved faculty participants.

The Senate serves as a forum for faculty to discuss issues that impact the faculty and our students. Senate resolutions that address these issues are brought forth by the Senate Executive Officers to the appropriate District and College committees for consideration.

The Senate is composed of full-time faculty senators representing every department at the college and five adjunct senators representing part-time faculty.

The Mesa College Academic Senate also seeks the support of the State Academic Senate in professional and curricular matters.

In accordance with provisions of the California Education Code, the faculty at-large nominates and duly elects a President Elect to serve a four-year term and a Secretary, Treasurer, two Senators at Large and a Vice President to serve two-year terms as Senate Executive Officers. The President Elect assumes the role of President during the second year of their term and serves as President for two years.  The President also serves as the Delegate to the Statewide Academic Senate and represents the Senate at the Area D regional meetings and fall/spring Plenary sessions for the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC)  The President serves a one- year term as the Immediate Past-President after serving two years as President as a member of the Senate Executive Committee in order to provide continuity.

AB 1725, the California Education Code and Title 5 of the Barclays California Code of Regulations give our Senate the authority to maintain its functions and responsibilities at San Diego Mesa College.

The Senate is closely aligned and coordinated with each department through a council of department chairs. The Committee of Chairs (COC) meets every month during the fall and spring semesters. The chair of the Chair of the Committee of Chairs also serves on the Senate Executive Committee.

The faculty chairs of the Academic Affairs Committee and Professional Advancement Committee (PAC) also serve on the Senate Executive Committee.  The faculty co-chairs of the Curriculum Review (CRC) Committee and the Program Review Committee also serve on the Senate Executive Committee.  The Academic Affairs Committee, Committee of Chairs, Curriculum Review Committee and Professional Advancement Committee are standing committees of the Academic Senate.  The Curriculum Review Committee and Program Review Committee are Shared Governance committees with Administrative, Classified, Faculty, and Student representatives.

The President, President Elect or Vice President, Chair of the Committee of Chairs and Chair of Academic Affairs also serve on President's Cabinet.

The Senate offers extensive and open access to its deliberations.  It promotes the interests of the faculty through its standing committees, its representation on College and District committees and its access to the San Diego Community College District's Board of Trustees.