Mesa Journeys

 

GIVE TO MESA

work experience

WORK EXPERIENCE CLASSES:

Students can choose from a variety of Work Experience courses that may be related to an occupational/educational goal. Review the Mesa College Catalog to determine if Work Experience is required for your degree/certificate program.

Work experience credit is earned based on 75 hours of paid work/internship or 60 hours of unpaid work/internship per unit the student is enrolled. Students may take Work Experience up to 16 units total - Check with your specific program or a Counselor as to how many units will apply towards your degree requirements.

WORK EXPERIENCE COURSE OPTIONS: 

Earn college credit for work/internships (in or out of your field of study)
Paid, unpaid, or volunteer placements are eligible
Many Work Experience courses are  associated with certificate and degree requirements
CSU-Transferable - Complete and use units towards transfer requirements

GENERAL WORK EXPERIENCE EDUCATION (WORK 272):
Supervised employment which is intended to assist students in acquiring desirable work habits, attitudes and career awareness. The Work experience does not have to be related to the students' educational goal (Title 5 section 55252)

OCCUPATIONAL WORK EXPERIENCE EDUCATION (270):
Supervised employment extending classroom based occupational learning at an on-the-job learning station relating to the students' educational or occupational goal. Work Experience 270 can be discipline specific (Title 5 section 55252)

Have an internship, job, or volunteer position secured and want to receive college credit for your hands-on experience? Complete the Work Experience Application to be considered for enrollment this semester and recieve an ADD/permission number to enroll. 

Questions? Please contact the Work Experience Coordinator, Shawn Fawcett, at sfawcett@sdccd.edu for more information. 

SUMMER 2022 WORK EXPERIENCE CLASS SCHEDULE:

Course Units # WE Hours Instructor Weeks Start Date End Date Class # Instructor Email
CACM 270 1 60 Unpaid | 75 Paid Tonya Whitfield 8 6/13/22 8/6/22 91241 twhitfie@sdccd.edu
CACM 270 2 120 Unpaid | 150 Paid Tonya Whitfield 8 6/13/22 8/6/22 90811 twhitfie@sdccd.edu
EXSC 270 1 60 Unpaid | 75 Paid Careth Herron 8 6/20/22 8/13/22 90939 cherron@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 2 120 Unpaid | 150 Paid Anna Marie Phillips 10 6/6/22 8/13/22 90810 aphillips@sdccd.edu
GIS 270 2 120 Unpaid | 150 Paid Rachel Russell 10 6/6/22 8/13/22 90435 rrussell@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 1 60 Unpaid | 75 Paid Adrian Lizano 10 6/6/22 8/13/22 91483 alizano@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 2 120 Unpaid | 150 Paid Adrian Lizano 10 6/6/22 8/13/22 91484 alizano@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 3 180 Unpaid | 225 Paid Adrian Lizano 10 6/6/22 8/13/22 90476 alizano@sdccd.edu
INTE 270 3 180 Unpaid | 225 Paid Jeff Hines 10 6/6/22 8/13/22 90439 jhines@sdccd.edu
INTE 270 4 240 Unpaid | 300 Paid Jeff Hines 10 6/6/22 8/13/22 90438 jhines@sdccd.edu
SUST 270 1 60 Unpaid | 75 Paid Waverly Ray 8 6/13/22 8/6/22 91485 wray@sdccd.edu
SUST 270 2 120 Unpaid | 150 Paid Waverly Ray 8 6/13/22 8/6/22 91486 wray@sdccd.edu
SUST 270 3 180 Unpaid | 225 Paid Waverly Ray 8 6/13/22 8/6/22 91487 wray@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 1 60 Unpaid | 75 Paid Pavel Consuegra 9 6/13/22 8/13/22 TBD pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 1 60 Unpaid | 75 Paid Pavel Consuegra 8 6/20/22 8/13/22 90475 pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 2 120 Unpaid | 150 Paid Pavel Consuegra 8 6/20/22 8/13/22 90812 pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 3 180 Unpaid | 225 Paid Adrian Lizano 8 6/20/22 8/13/22 90803 alizano@sdccd.edu