Mesa Journeys

 

GIVE TO MESA

work experience

WORK EXPERIENCE CLASSES:

Students can choose from a variety of Work Experience courses that may be related to an occupational/educational goal. Review the Mesa College Catalog to determine if Work Experience is required for your degree/certificate program.

Work experience credit is earned based on 75 hours of paid work/internship or 60 hours of unpaid work/internship per unit the student is enrolled. Students may take Work Experience up to 16 units total - Check with your specific program or a Counselor as to how many units will apply towards your degree requirements.

WORK EXPERIENCE COURSE OPTIONS: 

Earn college credit for work/internships (in or out of your field of study)
Paid, unpaid, or volunteer placements are eligible
Many Work Experience courses are  associated with certificate and degree requirements
CSU-Transferable - Complete and use units towards transfer requirements

GENERAL WORK EXPERIENCE EDUCATION (WORK 272):
Supervised employment which is intended to assist students in acquiring desirable work habits, attitudes and career awareness. The Work experience does not have to be related to the students' educational goal (Title 5 section 55252)

OCCUPATIONAL WORK EXPERIENCE EDUCATION (270):
Supervised employment extending classroom based occupational learning at an on-the-job learning station relating to the students' educational or occupational goal. Work Experience 270 can be discipline specific (Title 5 section 55252)

Have an internship, job, or volunteer position secured and want to receive college credit for your hands-on experience? Complete the Work Experience Application to be considered for enrollment this semester and recieve an ADD/permission number to enroll. 

Questions? Please contact the Work Experience Coordinator, Shawn Fawcett, at sfawcett@sdccd.edu for more information. 

FALL 2021 WORK EXPERIENCE CLASS SCHEDULE:

Course Units # WE Hours Instructor Weeks Start Date End Date Class # Instructor Email
CHIL 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Maria George 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71748 mgeorge@sdccd.edu
CHIL 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Maria George 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71749 mgeorge@sdccd.edu
CHIL 270 4 240 Unpaid 300 Paid Maria George 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71750 mgeorge@sdccd.edu
EXSC 270 1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Jake Portugal 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 75676 jportugal@sdccd.edu
EXSC 270 1 60 Unpaid    75 Paid Jake Portugal 14 9/7/2021 12/18/2021 75677 jportugal@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Liese Hoffmire 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71847 lhoffmire@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Liese Hoffmire 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71848 lhoffmire@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Liese Hoffmire 14 9/7/2021 12/18/2021 72059 lhoffmire@sdccd.edu
GISG 270 1 60 Unpaid    75 Paid Rachel Russell 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 75678 rrussell@sdccd.edu
GISG 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Rachel Russell 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 75679 rrussell@sdccd.edu
GISG 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Rachel Russell 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 75680 rrussell@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 1 60 Unpaid    75 Paid Adrian Lizano 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 75681 alizano@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Adrian Lizano 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 75682 alizano@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Adrian Lizano 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71244 alizano@sdccd.edu
INTE 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Jeff Hines 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71849 jhines@sdccd.edu
INTE 270 4 240 Unpaid 300 Paid Jeff Hines 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 75683 jhines@sdccd.edu
NUTR 270 4 240 Unpaid 300 Paid Amy Woods 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71145 awoods001@sdccd.edu
NUTR 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Amy Woods 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71630 awoods001@sdccd.edu
NUTR 270 1 60 Unpaid    75 Paid Amy Woods 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71850 awoods001@sdccd.edu
SUST 270 1 60 Unpaid    75 Paid Waverly Ray 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 75998 wray@sdccd.edu
VTAH 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Dana McNabb 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71553 dkbrunette8@gmail.com
WORK 270 1 60 Unpaid    75 Paid Pavel Consuegra 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 75684 pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 1 60 Unpaid    75 Paid Mark Manasse 16 9/27/2021 1/15/2022 72055 mmanasse@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Shawn Fawcett 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71248 sfawcett@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Liese Hoffmire 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 72053 lhoffmire@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 4 240 Unpaid 300 Paid Casey Cook 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71245 ccookgis@gmail.com
WORK 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Casey Cook 12 9/20/2021 12/18/2021 71247 ccookgis@gmail.com
WORK 270 1 60 Unpaid    75 Paid Liese Hoffmire 8 10/18/2021 12/18/2021 71249 lhoffmire@sdccd.edu
WORK 272 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Liese Hoffmire 16 8/23/2021 12/18/2021 71254 lhoffmire@sdccd.edu
WORK 272 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Casey Cook 12 9/20/2021 12/18/2021 71255 ccookgis@gmail.com