GIVE TO MESA

Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee
Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee

Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee


Purpose

The Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee (PIE) is a participatory governance committee that reports directly to President's Cabinet. 

PIE is designed to advance the overall planning for the College.

Following the sustainable continuous quality improvement model, PIEC is responsible for assuring that the College's planning framework is consistent with accreditation standards; for guiding the annual assessment of progress on stated goals, objectives and priorities and recommending changes as indicated; and for assuring the integration of planning across the campus.

PIE may establish sub-committees to carry out specific purpose and objective of the committee. These sub-committees will report directly back to the PIE Committee.

PIEC CHARGE  AND ONGOING RESPONSIBILITIES :

Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee (PIEC) is the organizing and oversight body for Mesa College’s institutional planning processes and has the following responsibilities: 

  1. Monitor and support progress of campus wide initiatives, using data, to support a continued focus on equity and ensure alignment with ACCJC institution set standards and campus goals. 
  2. Communicate and meaningfully engage the campus community in institutional effectiveness efforts, governance structure updates, and short- and long-term planning cycles. 
  3. Support resource allocation processes that align with long- and short-term planning goals 
  4. Continuously evaluate the efficacy of current planning and assessment structures and engage in quality improvement to support the mission of the institution.  
  5. Make recommendations to President’s Cabinet on policies and practices related to institutional planning and effectiveness, including governance processes and outcome assessment. 
  6. Oversee the development and assessment of progress towards Mesa College’s long-term plan (Mesa2030) and strategic plan (Roadmap to Mesa2030) 
  7. Periodically review the Mesa College Integrated Planning process and update the Integrated Planning and Governance Guide as needed. 

Type: Governance

Reports to: President's Cabinet (PCAB)

Meets: Meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month, from 3:30pm to 5:00pm Via Zoom  |  View Agendas & Minutes


Goals

Deliverables for 2022/2023

Draft

1.Accreditation
    • Support the development of our ISER
    • Provide feedback around the alignment of the Quality Focus Essay to the Roadmap and share it with the campus
2. Program Review/Outcomes
    • Coordinate the development of an integrated timeline to deploy Program Review and Outcome workspaces
3.Governance
    • Updated Committee Inventory (Fall and Spring)
    • Analyze governance survey results and make recommendations for Improvement
4. Roadmap Implementation
    • Gap analysis of Strategic Objectives that aren’t being supported by Units goals
    • Recommend an approved Climate Action Plan to President’s Cabinet
5.Update Integrated Planning Calendar

Membership 2021-2022

Bridget Herrin Dean Institutional Effectiveness bherrin@sdccd.edu
Holly Jagielinski Faculty-Instruction hjagielinski@sdccd.edu 
    VACANT
Victoria Miller Dean of Student Affairs vmiller@sdccd.edu
Ryan Shumaker Dean of Exercise Science rshumaker@sdccd.edu
John Crocitti Academic Senate President (or designee) jcrocitt@sdccd.edu 
Nathan Resch Exercise Science nresch@sdccd.edu 
Barbara Sexton Arts & Languages bsexton@sdccd.edu
Lisa Shapiro  Business & Technology lshapiro@sdccd.edu
Ian Duckles Social/Behavioral SBS iduckles@sdccd.edu
Danica Moore Math & Natural Science dcmoore@sdccd.edu
Scott Plambek Humanities splambek@sdccd.edu 
Holly Jagielinski* Health Science hjagielinski@sdccd.edu
Valerie Pallares Student Development vpallares@sdccd.edu  
Jill Moreno Ikari Chairs jmorenoi@sdccd.edu 
Sahar( Mona ) King  Classified Senate President (or designee) sking@sdccd.edu
Vacant Classified Professional - Instruction  Vacant
Courtney Lee Classified Professional- Student Services clee@sdccd.edu
Vacant Classified Professional- Administrative  Vacant
Student Vacant   
Larry Maxey  Student Services maxey@sdccd.edu 
Lorenze Legaspi Administrative Services llegaspi@sdccd.edu
Isabel O'Connor Instruction ioconnor@sdccd.edu
Ashanti Hands  College President ahands@sdccd.edu  
Alex Berry CTE aberry@sdccd.edu 
Howard Eskew
Marisa Alioto
Pathways Consultants heskew@sdccd.edu
malioto@sdccd.edu
Toni Parsons HSI Program mparsons@sdccd.edu
Michelle Rodriguez Sustainability  mrodrigu@sdccd.edu
Stephanie Oldengarm* Admin Support IE office soldengarm@sdccd.edu
*while Mona King is in temporary position as Acting Director of EOPS at City College

Additional Information

 

PIE Meeting Schedule 2022-2023

Multi year planning calendar

IP Calendar 2022-2023 

Governance Handbook 2021-2022

Governance 101

 

 

PIE Webpage Representative: Stephanie Oldengarm