GIVE TO MESA

Committee on Outcomes and Assessment
Committee on Outcomes and Assessment

Committee on Outcomes and Assessment


Purpose

The Committee on Outcomes and Assessment (COA) has, as its primary goal, to facilitate an equitable, accessible, and meaningful learning experience for all Mesa students. In order to achieve this purpose, COA will establish and maintain structures and standards for outcomes assessment, create a framework for authentic assessment of learning, support innovation and provide professional learning around outcomes assessment, promote a culture that integrates outcomes assessment results into the continuous quality improvement cycle, and ensure Institutional Learning Outcomes reflect Mesa’s Mission and curriculum.

COA Deliverables 2023-24

  1. Nuventive
    • Support the design of the Outcomes Assessment module in the Nuventive Platform.
    • Provide training and ongoing support.
  2. Process
    • Update and maintain the Outcomes Handbook.
    • Promote and provide support for COA’s work (clarify and support the responsibilities of DOC, facilitate and support the process for student services to assess SSOs, clarify the goals and the assessment cycle).
    • Support departments and certificate/degree programs to identify gateway courses and assess CLOs in those gateway courses by June 30, 2024.
    • Assist departments with the development of an assessment schedule for remaining courses to be assessed during years 3 and 4. 
    • Clarify and consolidate processes for CurricUNET Meta, Nuventive, Program Review, Outcomes to ensure a systematic, timely, accurate updates process.
    • Discuss strategies to turn results into impactful activities (emphasizing both compliance and improvement/equity). 
  3. Ongoing Responsibilities
    • Promote a practice of meaningful dialogue around learning outcomes development, assessment, and improvement college wide.
    • Provide a forum to generate learning outcomes and assessment ideas and practices while sharing progress and accomplishments.
    • Incorporate learning outcomes assessment in Guided Pathways, Program Review, and Integrated Planning Processes.
    • Support faculty and classified professionals to complete effective learning assessments aligned with our cycle timeline
    • Participate in ongoing professional learning around different types of learning assessments and provide leadership to the campus regarding best practices.
    • Maintain the structural and technological components of the learning outcomes process.

Type: Governance

Reports to: Planning & Institutional Effectiveness (PIE)

Meets: COA meets on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of the month, 4:00pm-5:00pm via Zoom  |  View Agendas & Minutes


Goals

  1. Promote a practice of meaningful dialogue around learning outcomes development, assessment, and improvement college-wide.
  2. Provide a forum to generate learning outcomes and assessment ideas and practices while sharing progress and accomplishments.
  3. Incorporate learning outcomes assessment in Guided Pathways, Program Review, and Integrated Planning Processes.
  4. Support faculty and classified professionals to complete effective learning assessments aligned with our cycle timeline.
  5. Participate in ongoing professional learning around different types of learning assessments and provide leadership to the campus regarding best practices.
  6. Maintain the structural and technological components of the learning outcomes process.

Membership 2023-2024

Hai Hoang Dean of Institutional Effectiveness hhoang@sdccd.edu
Eliza Rabinovich SLO Coordinator/Faculty Co-Chair erabinovich@sdccd.edu
Isabel O’Connor Vice President - Instruction Ioconnor@sdccd.edu
Larry Maxey  Vice President - Student Services maxey@sdccd.edu
Ailene Crakes Student Development acrakes@sdccd.edu
Michael Temple Counseling mtemple@sdccd.edu
  Institutional Effectiveness  
Sahar Mona King Classified  Senate President (or designee) sking@sdccd.edu 
Andrew Hoffman  Academic Senate President (or designee) ahoffman@sdccd.edu  

 

 

Leslie Shimazaki Arts and Languages lshimaza@sdccd.edu
Monica Romero Business and Technology  mdromero@sdccd.edu
Todd Curran   Exercise Science tcurran@sdccd.edu 
Amanda Johnston Health Sciences and Public Service  ajohnsto@sdccd.edu
Donna Duchow  Humanities dduchow@sdccd.edu
Janue Johnson Learning Resources/ LOFT jjohnson001@sdccd.edu 
Mark Manasse Learning Resources/MT2C mmanasse@sdccd.edu
Lisa Burgert Learning Resources/LIBRARY Lburgert@sdccd.edu 
Saloua Saidane Math and Science  ssaidane@sdccd.edu
Inna Kanevsky Social & Behavioral Sciences & Multicultural Studies  ikanevsk@sdccd.edu
VACANT Classified Professional- Admin Services 

VACANT

VACANT Classified Professional- Instruction VACANT
Ayana Woods Classified Professional - Student Services awoods002@sdccd.edu
VACANT  Associated Student Representative  
Ashanti Hands  College President ahands@sdccd.edu 
Lorenze Legaspi VP Admin Services llegaspi@sdccd.edu
Sahar Mona King   Admin Support IE office sking@sdccd.edu   

 

 


Additional Information

COA Meeting Schedule 2023-2024

Gov101

* COA Webpage Representative:Sahar Mona King