Academic Review Committee

The Academic Review Committee reviews petitions for academic exceptions to district policy.

The committee is comprised of faculty, staff, and administrators and meets once a month to review petitions.

Petitions Reviewed

The General Student Petition may be used for:

  • Extension of Time To Remove Incomplete Grades (in Admissions Office)
  • Late Withdrawal from a Class or Semester (in Admissions Office)
  • No course in which a “C” or better grade has been earned may be repeated.
  • No course in which a substandard grade of “D”, “F”, "NP" or "W" has been earned may be repeated more than three times, unless otherwise indicated in the catalog.
  • Students will not be allowed more than three enrollments in a non-activity course, regardless of grade or symbol earned.

Students who believe that they have a compelling reason for an exception to this policy may file the petition for Exception to Course Repetition Policy following the procedures below. If the petition is approved, the student will need to manually enroll in the class through a visit to the Admissions Office.

Any variation to District Graduation or General Education Requirements must be approved by the Academic Review Committee. Requests for modification must be submitted on a Modification of Graduation Requirements form following the procedures below.

Petition Procedures

Meet with a counselor to review the request and complete the appropriate form, providing a detailed explanation for the request. Attach documentation, if appropriate. **For Petitions for Exception to Course Repetition Policy, please click here for steps.**

Obtain the signatures of the following in sequence:

  • counselor or instructor
  • department chair
  • instructional dean

Submit the completed form to the Evaluations Office

Petitions must be submitted Evaluations Office at least one week prior to the scheduled Academic Review Committee meeting.

Committee Procedures

The Academic Review Committee considers petitions at their regularly scheduled meetings, which are usually scheduled on the second Monday of each month. For the 2014 - 2015 meetings are scheduled as follows, but are subject to change.

 

ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE

MEETING DATES

PETITION SUBMISSION DEADLINE TO

MESA EVALUATIONS OFFICE

   

Monday, July 14, 2014

                Thursday, July 10, 2014 @ 12:00 noon

Monday, August 11, 2014

                Thursday, August 7, 2014 @ 12:00 noon

Monday, September 8, 2014

                Thursday, September 4, 2014 @ 12:00 noon

Monday, October 13, 2014

                Thursday, October 9, 2014 @ 12:00 noon

Monday, November 10, 2014

                Thursday, November 6, 2014 @ 12:00 noon

Monday, December 8, 2014

                Thursday, December 4, 2014 @ 12:00 noon

Monday, January 12, 2015

                Thursday, January 8, 2015 @ 12:00 noon

Monday, February 9, 2015      

                Thursday, February 5, 2015 @ 12:00 noon

Monday, March 9, 2015

                Thursday, March 5, 2015 @ 12:00 noon

Monday, April 13, 2015

                Thursday, April 9, 2015 @ 12:00 noon

Monday, May 11, 2015

                Thursday, May 7, 2015 @ 12:00 noon

Monday, June 8, 2015

                Thursday, June 4, 2015 @ 12:00 noon

 

 

Students are informed of the committee decision in writing within 10 working days from the committee meeting.



San Diego Mesa College Evaluations Office | Room I4-306 | 619-388-2680 | MesaEvaluations@sdccd.edu