Event Information

Monthly Career Event Calendar

 

Student Career Workshops

Workshops are available to all students. Register with the Career Center - walk-ins are also welcomed.

All workshops are in the Career Center room I4-306. Space is limited. Contact the Career Center to reserver your spot in a workshop! 

April & May Workshop Flyer - CLICK HERE!

Resume Writing:
Learn tools to begin or improve your resume.

  • Monday, Feb. 2 from 4:30 pm - 5:40 pm
  • Thursday, Feb. 26 from 9:30 am - 10:30 am
  • Tuesday, March 10 from 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
  • Wednesday, March 25 from 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • Thursday, April 9 from 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  • Monday, April 20 from 9:30 am - 10:30 am
  • Tuesday, May 5 from 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

 

Major & Career Exploration

Discover tools and resources to assist you in choosing your major and career path.

  • Tuesday, Jan. 27 from 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  • Wednesday, Jan. 28 from 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
  • Monday, Feb. 23 from 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
  • Thursday, March 19 from 9:30 am - 10:30 am
  • Tuesday, April 28 from 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

 

Job & Internship Search
Tips on searching and securing a job or internship

  • Tuesday, Feb. 10 from 10:00 am - 11:00 am
  • Monday, March 2 from 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
  • Thursday, April 23 from 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  • Wednesday, May 6 from 10:00 am - 11:00 am

 

Finding a Job with Social Media
Learn tools to develop a positive online presence to secure a job and the importance of online networking. 

  • Wednesday, Feb. 11 from 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
  • Thursday, March 5 from 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  • Monday, April 27 from 10:00 am - 11:00 am
  • Thursday, May 14 from 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

 

Interviewing Skills
Obtain the keys to your interview success! 

  • Thursday, Feb. 19 from 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  • Monday, March 16 from 10:00 am - 11:00 am
  • Wednesday, April 8 from 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
  • Tuesday, May 12 from 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

 

Job Fair Success
Tips to be successful at the next Job Fair. Learn how to dress, what to bring & how to prepare.

  • Tuesday, April 7 from 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

 

Career Hour

Come meet the staff in the Career Center and learn about the services our department offers students in choosing their major/career pathway and finding jobs/internships. 

  • Tuesday, April 7 from 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
  • Monday, April 20 from 10:00 am - 11:00 am
  • Wednesday, May 13 from 10:00 am - 11:00 am
     
Upcoming Industry Presentations

Careers with the USDA: Information Sessions
Several sessions will be offered in March and April (For dates, click or copy registration link)
Sessions will be held: 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm (EST)
Register at: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/USDAInfoSessionsRegistration_2015
For more information check click here for the flyer

Employer Visits to Campus

Mesa College hosts employers on campus at the Fall job fair in October and the annual Career Opportunities Expo in April. Special employer visits to campus that are hosted by the Career Center will be posted here and the employers will be located at tables in the breezeway between the cafeteria and bookstore. BRING YOUR RESUME!!!

Upcoming Employer Visits:

U.S. State Department Info Session - Learn about th exciting opportunities with the U.S. State Department.
Location: H-117

  • Thursday, April 9 from 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
     

Vivint - on campus recruiting for open positions with their company.
Location: Cafe Breezeqay (between Cafe & Bookstore)

  • Monday, April 13 from 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • Tuesday, April 14 from 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
     

SunRun - on campus recruiting for open positions with their company.
Location: Cafe Breezeway (between Cafe & Bookstore)

  • Thursday, March 26 from 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
     

CONNECT2Careers -  on campus providing info about CONNECT2Careers and recruiting interested candiates.
Description: Connect2 Careers helps you find, apply for, and excel in meaningful work and paid internship experiences where the paycheck isn’t the only benefit. In addition to placement with some of San Diego’s greatest employers, they’ll offer you professional development opportunities before, during, and after the hiring process. 

  • Tuesday, March 17 from 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm in the Cafe Breezeway
  • CONNECT2Careers Info Workshop
    Tuesday, March 17 from 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm in MS-111 (Math & Science Building)

 

​Free Speech on Campus: As a public institution, there are free speech areas on campus where persons can disseminate information. These individuals or organizations are in no way hosted by the Career Center or campus. Click to learn more.

 

Job Fairs
Image: Job Fairs

Job fairs are good places to meet multiple representatives from various organizations during a short period of time. At job fairs students are provided the opportunity to network with employers regarding current job or internship openings, obtain information about the company, submit an application or resume, and network for future opportunities.

 

 

Spring Career Opportunities Expo and Fall Job Fair

 

What is the Career Opportunities Expo?

  • A week of free activities focused on career exploration and employment preparation that culminates in the Spring Job Fair.
    • Workshops: April 9-April 15
      Click the link below for workshop titles, dates, times and locations.
    • Resume Rescue Tent: April 14 & April 15 from 10 am - 2:00 pm in Promenade
      Get your resume reviewed before the job fair!
    • JOB FAIR: April 16 from 9:30 am - 1:30 pm in the Promendare
      Over 50 Employers!

Click Here for More Info

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

San Diego Mesa College Career Center | Room I4-306 | 619-388-2777 | MesaCareer@sdccd.edu