Mesa Journeys

 

GIVE TO MESA

work experience

WORK EXPERIENCE CLASSES:

Students can choose from a variety of Work Experience courses that may be related to an occupational/educational goal. Review the Mesa College Catalog to determine if Work Experience is required for your degree/certificate program.

Work experience credit is earned based on 75 hours of paid work/internship or 60 hours of unpaid work/internship per unit the student is enrolled. Students may take Work Experience up to 16 units total - Check with your specific program or a Counselor as to how many units will apply towards your degree requirements.

WORK EXPERIENCE COURSE OPTIONS: 

Earn college credit for work/internships (in or out of your field of study)
Paid, unpaid, or volunteer placements are eligible
Many Work Experience courses are  associated with certificate and degree requirements
CSU-Transferable - Complete and use units towards transfer requirements

GENERAL WORK EXPERIENCE EDUCATION (WORK 272):
Supervised employment which is intended to assist students in acquiring desirable work habits, attitudes and career awareness. The Work experience does not have to be related to the students' educational goal (Title 5 section 55252)

OCCUPATIONAL WORK EXPERIENCE EDUCATION (270):
Supervised employment extending classroom based occupational learning at an on-the-job learning station relating to the students' educational or occupational goal. Work Experience 270 can be discipline specific (Title 5 section 55252)

Have an internship, job, or volunteer position secured and want to receive college credit for your hands-on experience? Complete the Work Experience Application to be considered for enrollment this semester and recieve an ADD/permission number to enroll. 

Questions? Please contact the Work Experience Coordinator, Shawn Fawcett, at sfawcett@sdccd.edu for more information. 
NOTE: The Work Experience process has changed from paper to online forms. Please view the Steps to Enroll to complete the requirements to receive an ADD code.

FALL 2020 WORK EXPERIENCE CLASS SCHEDULE:

NOTE: Fall 2020 WE Application now available! Please see Application Resources page.

WE Course Units WE Instructor Class # Class Dates Minimum WE Hours Faculty Email
CACM 270 2 unit Brendan McCormack 48653 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
bmccormack@sdccd.edu
CHIL 270 2 units Maria George 48585 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
mgeorge@sdccd.edu
CHIL 270 3 units Maria George 48586 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 180 unpaid
225 paid
mgeorge@sdccd.edu
CHIL 270 4 units Maria George 48587 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 240 unpaid
300 paid
mgeorge@sdccd.edu
EXSC 270 1 unit Jake Portugal 48654 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 60 unpaid
75 paid
jportugal@sdccd.edu
EXSC 270 1 unit Esau Madrigal 43705 14 WK: 8/31 - 12/14/20 60 unpaid
75 paid
emadrigal@sdccd.edu
EXSC 270 1 unit Kelsey Graham 47253 12 WK: 9/14 - 12/14/20 60 unpaid
75 paid
kgraham@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 2 units Anna Marie Phillips 48787 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
aphillips@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 3 units Liese Hoffmire 43930 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 180 unpaid
225 paid
lhoffmire@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 4 units Liese Hoffmire 48788 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 240 unpaid
300 paid
lhoffmire@sdccd.edu
GIS 270 2 units Rachel Russell 43450 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
rrussell@sdccd.edu
GIS 270 3 units Rachel Russell 43451 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 180 unpaid
225 paid
rrussell@sdccd.edu
GIS 270 4 units Rachel Russell 47254 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 240 unpaid
300 paid
rrussell@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 1 unit Adrian Lizano 43452 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 60 unpaid
75 paid
alizano@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 2 units Adrian Lizano 43627 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
alizano@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 3 units Adrian Lizano 43453 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 180 unpaid
225 paid
alizano@sdccd.edu
INTE 270 3 units Jeff Hines 48789 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 180 unpaid
225 paid
jhines@sdccd.edu
INTE 270 4 units Jeff Hines 43488 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 240 unpaid
300 paid
jhines@sdccd.edu
NUTR 270 1 unit Amy Woods 48790 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 60 unpaid
75 paid
awoods001@sdccd.edu
NUTR 270 2 units Amy Woods 48791 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
awoods001@sdccd.edu
NUTR 270 3 units Amy Woods 45654 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 180 unpaid
225 paid
awoods001@sdccd.edu
NUTR 270 4 units Amy Woods 43195 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 240 unpaid
300 paid
awoods001@sdccd.edu
VTAH 270 3 units Dana McNabb 45263 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
dmcnabb@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 1 unit Pavel Consuegra 43455 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 60 unpaid
75 paid
pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 2 units Pavel Consuegra 43456 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 3 units Pavel Consuegra 43457 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 180 unpaid
225 paid
pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 4 units Adrian Lizano 43458 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 240 unpaid
300 paid
alizano@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 3 units Pavel Consuegra 43460 12 WK: 9/14 - 12/14/20 180 unpaid
225 paid
pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 2 units Adrian Lizano 43461 10 WK: 9/28 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
alizano@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 1 unit Adrian Lizano 43462 8 WK: 10/12 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
alizano@sdccd.edu
WORK 272 1 unit Becky Nieman 43940 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
rnieman@sdccd.edu
WORK 272 2 units Becky Nieman 43469 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
rnieman@sdccd.edu
WORK 272 3 units Katlin Choi 43470 16 WK: 8/17 - 12/14/20 180 unpaid
225 paid
kchoi@sdccd.edu
WORK 272 2 units Becky Nieman 43471 12 WK: 9/14 - 12/14/20 120 unpaid
150 paid
rnieman@sdccd.edu