Governance Academic Senate



Academic Senate


2016 - 2017 Academic Senate Meeting Schedule

Mesa College has a very active Academic Senate that meets twice each month during the fall and spring semesters. We have fully invested and extremely involved faculty participants.

The Senate serves as a forum for faculty to discuss issues that impact the faculty and our students. Senate resolutions that address these issues are brought forth by the Senate Executive Officers to the appropriate District and College committees for consideration.

The Senate is composed of full-time faculty senators representing every department at the college and five adjunct senators representing part-time faculty.

The Mesa College Academic Senate also seeks the support of the State Academic Senate in professional and curricular matters.

In accordance with provisions of the California Education Code, the faculty at-large nominates and duly elects a Senate President, President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, Senator-at-Large, and Delegate to the Statewide Academic Senate to serve two-year terms as Senate Executive Officers. The Delegate to the Statewide Academic Senate represents the Senate at the Area D regional meetings and fall/spring Plenary sessions for the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) The Vice President is elected to serve a one-year term as a Senate Executive Officer when the Senate does not have a President-Elect. The Immediate Past-President also serves a one-year term as a member of the Senate Executive Committee in order to provide continuity.

AB 1725, the California Education Code, and Title 5 of the Barclays California Code of Regulations give our Senate the authority to maintain its functions and responsibilities at San Diego Mesa College.

The Senate is closely aligned and coordinated with each department through a council of department chairs. The Committee of Chairs (COC) meets every month during the fall and spring semesters. The chair of the COC also serves on the Senate Executive Committee.

The chair of the Professional Advancement Committee (PDC) and the faculty co-chairs of the Academic Affairs and Curriculum Review (CRC) Committees also serve on the Senate Executive Committee. Academic Affairs, CRC, and PDC are standing committees of the Senate. Academic Affairs and Curriculum Review are Shared Governance committees with Administrative, Classified, Faculty, and Student representatives.

The President, President-Elect or Vice President, Chair of the COC, and the co-chair of Academic Affairs also serve on President's Cabinet.

The Senate offers extensive and open access to its deliberations. It promotes the interests of the faculty through its standing committees, its representation on College and District committees, and its access to the San Diego Community College District's Board of Trustees.