Distinguished Alumni Award


President Pam and Antonio

The 2019 Nomination deadline has passed for the 2019 Mesa College Distinguished Alumni Award. The award program was established in 2011 to recognize former students who have made significant contributions to society, and whose accomplishments, affiliations, and careers have honored the legacy of academic excellence at San Diego Mesa College.

The 2019 award recipient will be announced in March and conferred at the college commencement ceremony scheduled for Saturday, May 18. Nominations are due no later than FEBRUARY 22, 2019. Anyone in the greater community is encouraged to submit a nomination.  Please see and complete the Nomination Form below.

“We are proud of the tens of thousands of students who have attended Mesa College, and of the contributions they have made to the city and people of San Diego and beyond,” said Dr. Pamela T. Luster, President of Mesa College. “I encourage the community to respond, and help us to select our next Distinguished Alumni Award recipient.”

Former recipients include two-time Olympic Gold Medalist, Arnie Robinson, actress Annette Bening, film producer, Raul Celaya, artist Miya Hannan and community activists, Carlos and Linda LeGerrette.

Deadline – Nominations must be received by Friday, February 22, 2018 at 5:00 p.m.

Criteria for Selection -- This distinction will reflect on one or more of San Diego Mesa College’s core values: Access, Accountability, Diversity, Equity, Excellence, Freedom of Expression, Integrity, Respect, Scholarship, and/or Sustainability.

Recipients will be accomplished in the following areas:

  • Professional Achievement and Career Distinction
  • Service to Society/Community-based Service

Selection – Review of nominees and selection will be made by the President of San Diego Mesa College. The award recipient will be announced in March and conferred at the college commencement ceremony scheduled for Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 3:00 pm, held at the Jenny Craig Pavilion, University of San Diego.

If you have any questions, please contact Jennifer Kearns, Director of Communications at