Contact San Diego Mesa College Mathematics Department

Mathematics Department

Technology Help Tutorials

Math Advancement Exams (AKA Challenge Exams)

Accelerated College Program


Welcome to the Physical Sciences Department at San Diego Mesa College. The department offers courses in five disciplines: physics, astronomy, geology, engineering, and physical science (general). The physical sciences, which are part of a domain called "natural science," focus primarily on the non-living aspects of the physical world. Chemistry, a major component of the physical sciences, has its own separate department at Mesa College. The life sciences at Mesa College are organized into a separate biology department as well.

The purpose of this page and the other linked pages is to furnish information about the Physical Sciences Department's programs, courses and staff. Our department offers courses that transfer to 4-year colleges and universities, including general-education courses for non-science majors, and courses (primarily in physics) that will fulfill the lower-division requirements of students aiming for careers in engineering and science.