Allied Health Department

 

GIVE TO MESA

Contact

header

Allied Health Department

The California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office has mandated that all Directed Clinical Practice (DCP) hours meet the same criteria as laboratory hours. This change has resulted in an increase in the units for some of the Directed Clinical Practice (DCP) courses offered through our Allied Health Department.  Program changes will be reflected on each program page.

There are seven programs within Allied Health department: Animal Health Technology (ANHL), Dental Assisting (DENA), Health Information Management (HIMS), Health Information Technology (HEIT), Medical Assisting (MEDA), Phlebotomy (PHLB), Physical Therapist Assistant (PHYR) and Radiologic Technology (RADT). For more information about each, please use the links to the right.

ATTENTION ALLIED HEALTH STUDENTS: You must complete the following required training prior to starting your DIRECTED CLINICAL PRACTICE (DCP) or Work Experience. Please complete the training prior to your program orientation and bring verification of completion to your program orientation. Please click the link below.
REQUIRED New Sexual Assault Prevention Training Requirements for Community College Students

Students applying and entering Allied Health Programs are encouraged to take ALLH 048, Basic Skills for Health Care Careers, prior to starting their program.  This course will be offered Monday and Wednesday, 1:00pm-3:00pm, April 1, 2019-May 25, 2019. 

Click here for information about Spanish 125-Spanish for Health Care Professionals

 department filler
All students are required to be familiar with our Allied Health Policy Manual 2018

Program Information Sessions

Note: Please check this website the DAY of the session for any changes that may have been required. Reservations not required. Campus parking policies are enforced.  Parking day passes can be obtained at several parking machines located throughout the parking lots.

  Fall Spring
Animal Health (ANHL)

Sat., 9/22/18               Sat., 10/6/18

10:00-12:00 p.m.        10:00-12:00 p.m.

P-308                          P-308

 

 

Sat., 1/12/19

10-12:00 p.m.

P-308

Sat., 3/9/19

10-12:00 p.m.

P-308

OPEN HOUSE: Stay Tuned for date and time, it will be in May 2019.

Dental Assisting (DENA)

Mon.,Dec. 3, 2018

6:00 p.m.

S-117/118

 

Mon, March 18, 2019

6:30 p.m.

S-117/118

 
Health Information Technology (HEIT)/Health Information Management (HIM)

Mon.,9/17/18         Wed.,10/17/18

4:00pm-5:00pm     5:30-6:30 pm

S-201                      S-201

 

Thurs., 11/1/18

5:30-6:30 pm

S-201

 

Mon., Feb. 4, 2019

5:00-6:00 pm

S-201

Thurs., March 14, 2019

5:00-6:00 pm

S-201

Medical Assisting (MEDA)
 Please see the Medical Assisting page for the online information session.  

 

Phlebotomy (PHLB)
 Please see the Phlebotomy page for the online information session.  

 

 

 

 
Physical Therapy Assisting (PHYR)

Tues. 9/18/18, 6:00-7:00 p.m.

Sat. 11/17/18, 9:00 - 10:00 a.m.

S-207

 
   

Mon. 2/11/19, 5:30-6:30 p.m.

Sat. 5/18/19, 9:00 - 10:00 a.m.

S-207

 
Radiologic Technology (RADT)
Thursday, September 20, 2018  5:00-6:00p.m. 
S-104      
Friday, October 5, 2018
     11:00- 12:00 p.m.
S-104
Saturday, October 13th
        8:00 – 9:00 am
S-104
 
TBD-Check back soon!  
NEW Ultrasound Program (DMSG)
Wed. 12/5/18, 6:00-7:00pm, S-104, Allied Health Building

 
TBD-Check back soon!