Catalog Committee


A sub-committee of the San Diego Mesa College Curriculum Review Committee, the Catalog Sub-Committee recognizes the catalog as a legal document which provides students, faculty, staff and other educational institutions information regarding academic policies, degree and certificate programs, course offerings, curricula for transfer to baccalaureate institutions, and student services. The primary purpose of the committee is to coordinate the yearly update of the college catalog and to ensure that the contents are accurate, clear and useful. It is preferred that the members of the committee possess curriculum committee experience.

The following are the specific duties of the committee:

• Coordinate the review of assigned catalog sections (i.e. – General Information, Student Services, Academic Information and Regulations, Transfer Guide).

• Serve as a liaison between the reviewers assigned to the primary sections and the catalog committee co-chairs.

• Serve as a liaison to Mesa Deans and Department Chairs in Instruction and Student Services.

• Serve as a liaison to District Instructional and Student Services.

• Ensure that catalog update/revision deadlines are met.

• Ensure that curriculum policies and procedures are followed.

• Consult with appropriate individual(s) when specific information is required relative to the catalog.

Catalog Committee Members

Co-chair, Faculty:

  • Paul Sykes, Professor of Biology

Co-chair, Staff:

  • Charlotta Robertson, Instructional Support Supervisor


  • Tim McGrath, Vice President of Instruction


  • Gabriel Adona, Counselor
  • Ken Berger, Professor of Geography
  • Richard Chagnon, Professor of Music
  • Paula Gustin, Curriculum Review Committee Co-Chair


  • Dulce Lopez, Admissions Office
  • Brandon Terrell, Office of Instruction
  • Charlie Lieu, Administrative Technician
  • Arlis Svedberg, Office of Instruction/CRC

District Liaison:

  • Shelly Hess, Dean of Curriculum Services

Ex Officio:

  • Vacant


  • Johanna Eriksson, Associated Student Government Representative

Minimum of one meeting per semester.


Co-Chairs (2)

• Administrator, Instructional Services

• Articulation Officer or Academic Senate Representative

Administrative: Deans/Managers/Supervisors (1 representative)

• Vice President of Instruction or designee

Faculty (4 representatives)

• Arts and Sciences

• Career and Technical Education

• Curriculum Review Committee Co-Chair

• Student Services

Classified (4 representatives)

District Liaison (1 representative)

• District Instructional Services

Ex-Officio (2 representatives)

• District Instructional Services

• District Student Services

Student (1 representative)

• Student