The Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee is one of two participatory governance committees charged with planning that report directly to President's Cabinet, the other being Program Review. The recommendations of each committee are submitted independently to the President's Cabinet for review and adoption.

The Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee is designed to advance the overall planning work for the College, whereas the Program Review Committee advances planning at the unit level – program or service area. These two committees work in tandem as illustrated on the Integrated Planning Process diagram (approved by President's Cabinet, March 1, 2011).

Following the sustainable continuous quality improvement model, the Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee is responsible for assuring that the College's planning framework is consistent with accreditation standards; for guiding the annual assessment of progress on stated goals, objectives and priorities and recommending changes as indicated; and for assuring the integration of planning across the campus.

The Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee may establish sub-committees to carry out specific purpose and objectives of the committee. These sub-committees will report directly back to the PIE Committee.

The objectives of the Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee are to:

  • Coordinate the critical planning constructs of the college (such as mission, vision, values; annual objectives and priorities; and long-term goals) and ensure their integration into the planning and operations of the entire college.
  • Work in tandem with the Program Review Committee to assure that planning at the unit level is aligned with planning at the college-wide level.
  • Foster the college's planning processes, informed by internal and external data.
  • Foster the integration of the resource allocation recommendation processes at the college level.
  • Carry out on-going assessment of the effectiveness of the alignment and integration of the college's planning activities; recommend and implement improvements.
  • Facilitate the development of the college's educational master plan.
  • Provide oversight for the College's compliance with WASC-ACCJC Accreditation Standards and the Commission's recommendations regarding the integration of the college's planning efforts;
  • Serve as the steering committee for the preparation of reports for the Commission including annual reports, mid-term report, and the self study.


2014-2015 Membership


  • Madeleine Hinkes, Acting Dean, Institutional Effectiveness, Administrative Co-Chair
  • Angela Liewen, Classified Senate President, Co-Chair


  • Danene Brown, Dean, Business and Technology
  • Ashanti Hands, Dean, Student Affairs
  • Tim McGrath, Vice President, Instruction


  • Richard Chagnon, Professor, Music
  • Kristan Clark, Professor, Dramatic Arts
  • Jennifer Cost, Professor, English, Chair of Chairs
  • Terry Kohlenberg, Professor,Communication Studies, Academic Senate President
  • David Palomino, Professor, Geographic Information Systems


  • Charlotta Robertson, Supervisor, Instructional Support-LRC
  • Monica Romero, Supervisor, Career Guidance and Transfer Center

Associated Student:

  • Angela Arreaga, Student Representative

Consultants (Non-Voting):

  • Rachelle Agatha, Vice President, Administrative Services
  • Julie Barnes, Vice President, Student Services
  • Brianna Hays, College-Based Researcher
  • Pamela Luster, President
  • Charlie Zappia, Dean, Social and Behavioral Sciences


Membership Summary
  • Co-Chairs (2)
  • Faculty Co-Chair (1)*
  • Administrative Co-Chair (1)**
  • Administrators (3)**
  • Faculty (5)*
  • Classified (2)
  • Student Representative (1)
  • Consultants (5), Non-Voting
  • College Based Researcher (CBR)


* At least one of the faculty members to be ex officio Academic Senate Executive Committee.

** At least one of the administrators to be a vice president.

At least one committee member from any group to be ex officio Program Review Committee.

All ex officio members are also voting members.



The committee will meet twice monthly. More frequent meetings will occur as needed.

Meetings are 2nd and 4th Tuesdays, 3:30 pm to 5:00 pm

PIEC Meeting Schedule 2014-2015
PIEC Meeting Schedule 2015-2016
Committee Goals for 2014-2015
  1. Continue to improve Website and Links
  2. Continue to Improve Communication
  3. Put EMP into Operation: Goals and Measurements
  4. Prepare for Accreditation Self Study- October 2016 visit


Original: 8/31/11; Revised:10/25/11; 9/28/12; 8/30/13; 9/24/13; 5/6/14; 8/1/14; 8/20/14; 9/8/14; 9/24/14; 10/21/14; 2/6/15