Title III Grant - STEM Conexiones

 

GIVE TO MESA


CONTACT

Title III Grant-STEM Conexiones
7250 Mesa College Drive
School of Learning Resources and Academic Support, LRC
San Diego, CA 92111

Leticia P. Lopez, Ph.D.
HSI STEM Grant
Acting Program Manager
(619) 388-2353
llopez@sdccd.edu

Yolanda Catano, M.A.
HSI STEM Grant
Administrative Technician
(619) 388-5034
ycatano@sdccd.edu

Miranda Mitchem, Ph. D.
STEM Center Coordinator
Assistant Professor of Biology
(619) 388-2234
mmitchem@sdccd.edu

Kelly Spoon
STEM Professional Learning Coordinator
(619) 388-2670
kspoon@sdccd.edu

Brian Mackus
STEM Instructional Support Supervisor
(619) 388-2257
bmackus@sdccd.edu

Maria Jose Zeledon-Perez 
HSI Learning Coordinator
mzeledon@sdccd.edu

Oscar Torres
Research Incubator Coordinator
(619) 388-2292
otorres002@sdccd.edu

Patricia Rodriguez
STEM Counselor
(619) 388-2513
prodriguez001@sdccd.edu

Alanna Milner
Research Analyst
(619) 388-2459
amilner@sdccd.edu

Sara Ramirez
Project Assistant
(619) 388-2522
sramirez001@sdccd.edu

Meet The Team
Click here to learn more about the STEM Conexiones faculty and staff
.

Proyecto Exito
STEM Conexiones

Title III Grant
STEM Conexiones


Background

STEM ConexionesThe U.S Department of Education awarded Mesa College a 5-year, $5 million HSI (Hispanic Serving Institution) Title III STEM Grant to fund “STEM Conexiones” (STEM Connections), and support Hispanic and low-income students. The grant aims to increase student connections in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) through enhanced counseling services, workshops, peer mentoring and outreach, faculty connections through cultural professional learning and STEM curriculum redesign, and pathway connections working directly with high schools and adult learners to prepare them for STEM majors. This grant will establish a STEM Center and a STEM Research Incubator for students, and furthers Mesa College’s commitment as a Hispanic Serving Institution.

STEM Conexiones Presentation

Logic Model


Objectives

Through the institutionalization of programs and practices at San Diego Mesa College, we will increase the percentage of full-time, Hispanic, and low-income students that:

  • Seek a STEM degree
  • Complete a STEM degree
  • Transfer in a STEM major

Ordering STEM Instructional and STEM Center supplies


components

  • Student Connections – Examples include: Development of a STEM Center and Research Incubator with a cultural focus; STEM faculty mentoring; Structured Learning Assistance
  • Faculty Connections – Examples include: Implement a comprehensive professional development program for STEM faculty that includes training in culturally-inclusive pedagogy, mentoring, and use of technology; Course and lab redesign opportunities; STEM Faculty Mentoring
  • Pathways – Examples include: Provide outreach regarding STEM education and STEM careers to students in K-12 with a focus on high school students; Provide undecided Mesa students with info on STEM programs and careers; Review existing articulation agreements; Develop smooth pathways for students transferring to four-year institutions