Women's Studies Advisory Committee
Women's Studies Advisory Committee

Women's Studies Advisory Committee


The Women's Studies Advisory Committee serves as an interdisciplinary forum to foster the investigation of women and gender issues, promote the Women’s Studies Program at Mesa College, and to undertake the planning and execution of a range of gender-related events and initiatives on campus.

Type: Operational

Reports to: Academic Affairs

Meets: Second Tuesday of the Month, 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.  |  View Agendas & Minutes


  1. Support the educational, cultural, and creative purpose of the college by providing a focus on feminism, gender equality, and multiculturalism.
  2. Advise and support faculty, the Administration, and student groups on women and gender-related issues and events that impact the Mesa community.
  3. Support the college by creating a welcoming and equitable environment in which those who identify as women are able to pursue their educational and career aspirations, free from institutional barriers, oppression, and violence.
  4. Expand and deepen the existing Women’s Studies curriculum at Mesa College.
  5. Schedule a calendar of women and gender-related events that promote social responsibility, connect personal experience to political activity, and validate student contributions and voices.

Membership 2017-2018

  • (2) Faculty Representatives
  • Denise Rogers
    Professor, Fine Arts
  • Jennifer Sime
    Professor, Anthropology
  • (16) Faculty Representatives
  • Christie Allred
    Professor, English
  • Kristan Clark
    Professor, Dramatic Arts
  • Kristin Carter-Sanchez
    Adjunct Professor, English
  • Sondra Frisch
    Professor, English
  • James Gappy
    Assistant Professor, Computer Science
  • Gloria Kim
    Assistant Professor, History
  • Tanya Kravatz
    Professor, Sociology
  • Kimberly Lacher
    Assistant Professor, English
  • Laurie Mackenzie
    Professor Emerita, Psychology
  • Pegah Motaleb
    Assistant Professor, English
  • Waverly Ray
    Professor, Geography
  • Michelle Rodriguez
    Professor, Political Science
  • Nina Rosenstand
    Professor, Philosophy
  • Barbara Sexton
    Professor, Fine Arts
  • Lisa Shapiro
    Professor, Business
  • Cara Smulevitz
    Assistant Professor, Art History

Additional Information

Please visit out site frequently for updates and new information.