Veterans Advisory Council
Veterans Advisory Council

Veterans Advisory Council


The San Diego Mesa College Veterans Advisory Council's purpose entails coordinating efforts to enhance services provided to military, veteran, and dependent students. 

Type: Support

Reports to: 

Meets: The Veterans Advisory Council meets on the second Thursday of each month from 1:00p.m. to 2:00p.m. in I4-402.  |  View Agendas & Minutes


Mission Statement:  The San Diego Mesa College Veterans Services Program promotes a culture of collaboration within the campus and surrounding community to increase awareness and sensitivity to matters concerning veterans, active duty and their dependents.  The program creates and sustains an encouraging environment by acknowledging, honoring, and addressing veterans' unique needs.  This is accomplished by providing veterans with the resources, support and advocacy needed to achieve their educational and professional goals. 

Membership 2019-2020

  •   Chair and Dean 
  • Ailene Crakes
    Dean, School of Student Development
  •   Representative
  • Ramiro Hernandez
    Professor, Counseling


  • William Acuna
    President, Student Veterans Organization
  • Heather Stuck
    Vice President, Student Veterans Organization
  •   Representative
  • Danene Brown
    Dean, School of Business and Technology
  •   Representatives
  • -
    AS Vice President 
  • -
    AS President
  •   Representatives
  • Claudia Estrada
    Supervisor, Transfer Center and Career Guidance Center
  • Victoria Hernandez
    Supervisor, Veterans and Records
  • Ivonne Alvarez
    Supervisor, Admissions
  •   Representatives
  • Kelsey Graham
    Academic Senate
  • Tonya Whitfield
    Professor, Culinary Arts Management
  • Leroy Johnson
    Professor, Counseling
  •   Representatives
  • Angie Avila
    Student Development 
  • Trung Huynh
  • Adrian Tanjuaquio
    Veterans Resource Center
  • (3) Classified or Faculty Representative
    (1) Other representatives
  • Madeleine Hinkes
    Dean, Institutional Effectiveness
  • Taj George
    Administrative Technician, Administrative Services
  • Dina Miyoshi
    Faculty, Psychology
  • Genevieve Esguerra
    Student Affairs
  • New Membership
    New Area (copy this line for new members)
      Other Representatives
  • Adrian Tanjuaquio
    SST, Veterans Resource Center

Additional Information

Please visit our site frequently for updates and new information.