Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee
Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee

Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee


The Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Committee (PIE) is a participatory governance committee that reports directly to President's Cabinet. 

PIE is designed to advance the overall planning work for the College.

Following the sustainable continuous quality improvement model, the PIE is responsible for assuring that the College's planning framework is consistent with accreditation standards; for guiding the annual assessment of progress on stated goals, objectives and priorities and recommending changes as indicated; and for assuring the integration of planning across the campus.

PIE may establish sub-committees to carry out specific purpose and objective of the committee. These sub-committees will report directly back to the PIE Committee.

The objectives of PIE are to:

  • Coordinate the critical planning constructs of the college (such as mission, vision, values; annual
    objectives and priorities; and long term goals) and ensure their integration into the planning and
    operations of the entire college
  • Work in tandem with the Program Review Committee to assure that planning at the unit level is aligned with planning at the college-wide level. Foster the college's planning processes, informed by internal and external data
  • Foster the integration of the resource allocation recommendation processes at the college level.
    Carry out on-going assessment of the effectiveness of the alignment and integration of the college's planning activities; recommend and implement improvements.
  • Facilitate the development of the college's educational master plan. Provide oversight for the College's  compliance with WASC-ACCJC Accreditation Standards and the Commission's recommendations regarding the integration of the college's planning efforts
  • Serve as the steering committee for the preparation of reports for the Commission including annual reports, mid-term report, and the self-study

Type: Governance

Reports to: President's Cabinet (PCAB)

Meets: Meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month, from 3:30pm to 5:00pm in MC 211B.  |  View Agendas & Minutes


    1. Monitor and support progress of equity initiatives, institution set-standards, and Pathways work
    2. Communicate institutional effectiveness efforts through the Institutional Planning & Governance Guide (IPGG)
    3. Advance the planning work of the College using data-informed dialogue and decision-making
    4. Review progress with College-wide goals and their relationship to the Educational Master Plan in preparation for the new Educational Master Plan
    5. Maintain sustained continuous quality improvement while moving through planning and accreditation processes

Membership 2019-2020

  • (1) Administrative Representative
    (1) Classified or Faculty Representative
  • Bridget Herrin
    Acting Dean, Institutional Effectiveness
  • Holly Jagielinski
    Faculty, Health Information Management
  • (3) Representative
  • Danene Brown
    Dean, Business and Technology
  • Rayan Shumaker
    Dean, Exercise Science 
  • Victoria Miller
    Dean, Student Affairs
  • (9) Representatives
  • Scott Plambek
  • Ed Helscher
    Professor, Exercise Science
  • Donald Barrie

    Professor, Astronomy

    Terry Kohlenberg
    Professor, Communication Studies, Chair of Chairs
  • Manuel Velez

    Professor, , Academic Senate
  • Leroy Johnson
    Professor, Counseling/Transfer Center
  • Holly Jagielinski
    Professor, HEIT/HEIM
  • Ian Duckles
    Assistant Professor, Philosophy
  • Vacant
    Professor,  Arts & Languages 
  • (2) Representative
  • Anda McComb

    Administrative Technician

  • Courtney Lee

    Senior Student Services Assistant

  • (1) Representative
  • Jacob Babauta

    Student Representative
  • (7) Ex Officio/Non-Voting Representatives
  • Leticia Lopez
    Title III HSI Stem Grant
  • Ashanti Hands
    Vice President,  Student Services
  • Lorenze Legaspi 
    Vice President,  Administrative Services
  • Pamela Luster
    President, Mesa College
  • Isabel O'Connor
    Vice President, Instruction
  • Monica Romero
    Associate Dean, CTE

Additional Information

College Planning Documents

IP Calendar 2020-2021 

PIE Meeting Schedule 2020-2021

PIE Meeting Schedule 2019-2020

PIE Webpage Representative:  Anda McComb and Sahar King