Mesa Student Services Council
Mesa Student Services Council

Mesa Student Services Council


Mesa Student Services Council serves as the primary forum through which information is shared and dialogue is fostered around:

• Student Services issues, programs, and services.
• Best Student Services practices that promote student success, equity, and learning outcomes.
• College goals and Student Services’ role in accomplishing them.

Type: Operational

Reports to: President's Cabinet (PCAB), Student Services

Meets: The Mesa Student Services Council meets on the third Wednesday of every month from 2:00pm to 4:00pm  |  View Agendas & Minutes


  1. Strengthen pathways in Student Services to promote access, learning, success, and engagement for our diverse student population.
  2. Systematically use data to inform decision-making in Student Services.
  3. Advance innovative methods of service delivery to students, including the use of technology.
  4. Enhance the effectiveness of partnerships and collaborations.
  5. Promote and support professional development opportunities for faculty and staff.
  6. Promote a safe learning environment for students and employees.

Membership 2018-2019

  • (1) Vice President, Student Services
    (1) Vice President, Administrative Services
    (1) Vice President, Instruction
  • Ashanti Hands
    Vice President, Student Services
  • David Fierro
    Acting Vice President, Administrative Services
  • TBD
    Acting Vice President, Instruction
  • (1) Dean, Student Affairs
    (1) Dean, Student Development
    (1) Dean, Student Success & Equity
  • Ailene Crakes
    Dean, Student Development
  • Larry Maxey
    Dean, Student Success & Equity
  • Victoria Miller
    Dean, Student Affairs
  • (4) Representatives
  • TBD
    Director, Extended Opportunity Programs & Services
  • Ivonne Alvarez
    Director, Admissions, Veterans, Records
  • Suzanne Khambata
    Director, Student Health Services
  • Marichu Magana
    Director, STAR TRIO
  • (4) Representatives
  • LaWanda Foster
    Supervisor, Veterans and Records
  • Claudia Estrada-Howell
    Supervisor, Transfer, Career, Evaluations
  • Charlie Lieu
    College Technical Analyst
  • Barbara Plandor
    Supervisor, Counseling
  • (4) Representatives
  • Genevieve Esguerra
    Coordinator, Outreach & Assessment, Promise, Testing & Assessment
  • Anne Hedekin
    Faculty Coordinator, Transfer
  • Leroy Johnson
    Department Chair, Counseling
  • Steven Salter
    Faculty Coordinator, DSPS
  • TBD
    Coordinator, Mental Health
  • (2) Representatives
  • Gilda Maldonado
    Officer, Financial Aid
  • Agustin Rivera, Jr.
    Officer, Student Support Services
  • (1) President, Associated Students
    (1) Vice President, Associated Students
  • Sofia Castellani-Staedler
    President, Associated Students
  • Hong Nhung Nguyen
    Vice President, Associated Students
  • (1) Academic Senate Representative
    (1) Classified Senate Representative
    Representative, Academic Senate
  • Johanna Aleman
    Representative, Classified Senate
  • (1) Representative
  • Monica Romero
    Associate Dean, CTE
  • (3) Representatives
  • Lynn Dang
    Supervisor, Accounting
  • Leticia Lopez
    Faculty Coordinator, Title III & V
  • Mark Manasse
    Faculty Coordinator, Tutoring/MT2C

Additional Information

Please visit out page frequently for any updates or new information.

* MSSC Webpage Representative:  Trina Larson